top of page

Who will be taking home some Grammys this year? Here are my predictions.


I wanted to share my predictions on who will win some Grammy’s this year. The Grammys wil be airing LIVE THIS SUNDAY in New York with Kendrick Lamar reportedly opening the show with a killer performance. Other performances include Lady Gaga, Childish Gambino, Bruno Mars and Cardi B and a special tribute to the victims of the Route 91 Harvest Music Festival in October of last year.

Alright so I want to start off with Best New Artist. The nominees are Khalid, SZA, Alessia Cara, Julia Michaels and Lil Uzi Vert. I personally want SZA to win this one because CTRL was one of my favorite albums last year and she has come a long way. BUT, I would not mind if Khalid wins also. American Teen was also a great album and he has been blowing up since his debut. With the Grammy’s you never know they might throw a curveball and have Julia Michaels win.

Best Pop Solo Performance, we have Lady Gaga for Million Reasons, What About Us by P!nk, Shape of You by Ed Sheeran, Praying by Kesha and Love So Soft by Kelly Clarkson. I want Kesha just because she had been through so much in the music industry with Dr. Luke and everything and she deserves this one. But I think they will give it Ed Sheeran because everyone loves Ed Sheeran

Best Pop Duo/ Group Performance

The Chainsmokers & Coldplay – “Something Just Like This” Luis Fonsi & Daddy Yankee – “Despacito” [ft. Justin Bieber] Imagine Dragons – “Thunder” Portugal. The Man – “Feel It Still” Zedd & Alessia Cara – “Stay

I only really listened to Stay and Thunder but all of them are catchy so whoever wins I am okay with it.

Best Pop Vocal Album

Coldplay – Kaleidoscope Lana Del Rey – Lust for Life Imagine Dragons – Evolve Kesha – Rainbow

Lady Gaga – Joanne Ed Sheeran – ÷ (Divide)

Again, Kesha deserves this one as well. Rainbow was a great album and I just want to see her rise above and show that there is a light at the end of the tunnel.

Best Rap/Sung Collaboration

6LACK – “PRBLMS” GoldLink – “Crew” [ft. Brent Faiyaz and Shy Glizzy] JAY-Z – “Family Feud” [ft. Beyoncé] Kendrick Lamar – “LOYALTY.” [ft. Rihanna] SZA – “Love Galore” [ft. Travis Scott]

I am rooting for the underdog GoldLink to win. Crew was a great summer jam and I like to see the newcomer win the award. I do think Jay/Bey will win the award.

Best R&B Performance

Get You - Daniel Caesar Featuring Kali Uchis

Distraction - Kehlani

High- Ledisi

That's What I Like -Bruno Mars

The Weekend - SZA

The Weekend by SZA.Point.Blank.Period

Best R&B Song

"First Began" - PJ Morton

"Location"- Khalid

"Redbone" - Childish Gambino

"Supermodel" - SZA

"That's What I Like" - Bruno Mars

Best Urban Contemporary Album

"Free 6LACK" - 6LACK

"Awaken, My Love!"- Childish Gambino

"American Teen" - Khalid

"Ctrl" - SZA

"Starboy" - The Weeknd

Amazing albums. I would want Starboy to win just because I loved that album front to back but I think SZA or Gambino will take the cake.

Best R&B Album

Freudian - Daniel Caesar

Let Love Rule - Ledisi

24K Magic - Bruno Mars

Gumbo - PJ Morton

Feel The Real - Musiq Soulchild

Bruno Mars 24k Magic was R&B gold to me. All here for Bruno.

Best Rap Song

Cardi B – “Bodak Yellow Danger Mouse – “Chas“e Me” [ft. Run the Jewels and Big Boi]

Kendrick Lamar – “HUMBLE.” Rapsody – “Sassy” JAY-Z – “The Story of O.J.”

I want Jay-Z to win this one. The Story of O.J discusses issues about racism and s by far one of my favorite song he has released.

Best Rap Album

Kendrick Lamar – DAMN. JAY-Z – 4:44 Migos – Culture Rapsody – Laila’s Wisdom Tyler, the Creator – Flower Boy

I personally want Rapsody to win this one. All of these albums are great but it would be killer to see a female win this category. Kendrick will win tho.

Best Alternative Album

Arcade Fire – Everything Now

Gorillaz – Humanz

LCD Soundsystem – American Dream

Father John Misty – Pure Comedy

The National – Sleep Well Beast

Arcade Fire’s ‘Everything Now was everything to me and is also one of my favorite alternative albums last year.

Record of The Year

Childish Gambino – “Redbone”

Luis Fonsi & Daddy Yankee – “Despacito” [ft. Justin Bieber]

JAY-Z – “The Story of O.J.”

Kendrick Lamar – “HUMBLE.”

Bruno Mars – “24K Magic

I am rooting for Bruno on this one. 24K Magic was a golden record and made me PUT MY PINKY RING UP TO THE MOONNN. It will go down as a classic R&B jam.

Song Of The Year

Luis Fonsi & Daddy Yankee – “Despacito” [ft. Justin Bieber] JAY-Z – “4:44” Julia Michaels – “Issues” Logic – “1-800-273-8255” [ft. Alessia Cara and Khalid] Bruno Mars – “That’s What I Like”

Despacito got this one in the bag. Broke records. Broke video records. I would not be surprised.

Album of The Year

Childish Gambino – “Awaken, My Love!” JAY-Z – 4:44 Kendrick Lamar – DAMN. Lorde – Melodrama Bruno Mars – 24K Magic

AHHH This one was a tough one for m as all of these albums are fantastic. I'm gonna go with Kendrick on this one. Lets be real TPAB should’ve won but he came back harder and he deserves this. I wouldn’t be surprised if they threw a curveball with this and gave it to Lorde’s Melodrama. I am actually surprised that Melodrama was only nominated in this category. That album was genius. BUT, Kendrick will take the cake.

The Grammys are unpredictable and have been throwing curveballs in the pat years (cough *cough Lemonade and To Pimp A Butterfly) So who knows who will win, I am happy to see the major categories are starting to get more diverse.

bottom of page