top of page

Aly & AJ are fuckin back and better than ever.

As a kid, I grew up with the pop duo Aly & AJ. I was first familiar with Aly( Alyson Michalka) from the show "Phil of the Future," portraying Phil's best friend Keely Teslow. After, her sister AJ Michalka came along and came out with the song "Like Whoa" which was stuck in my head every once in awhile back then. Their huge hit and still a classic to this day, "The Potential Breakup Song" came out and would play on the Disney Channel every 5 minutes (maybe I am over exaggerating but it was played a lot haha) One of my friends still blasts the song tot this day.

10 years later, they are back with a new EP "Ten Years" which was released today! The first song from the EP "Take Me" was an instant bop for me. The 80's vibe that I got from it made me excited to hear more. Even the video gives me an 80's vibe and loved every single minute of it.

I follow the duo's instagram page and they teased the second song from the EP titled "I Know". "I Know" is personally the standout track on the EP for me. The production and just how it sounds overall gives me goosebumps.

The last two songs "Places" and "The Distance" are equally as good and I am so sad that the EP only has FOUR SONGS :/

I love the direction that the pop duo are heading and I really want a full album. This EP is hands down one of the best pop albums ( I'm calling it an album, IDGAF) I have listened to this year. It is a great sensual, synth heavy pop record that pleases the ears. People are sleeping on them and everyone needs to pay attention to them. This EP is so underrated it is not even funny. Take a break from "reputation" and give this a listen. You will not regret it.

bottom of page