top of page

AMA's Recap

Last night was the annual American Music Awards in Los Angeles, CA at the Microsoft Theater. It included performances from P!nk, Selena Gomez, Nick Jonas and a Whitney Houston tribute performed by the legend that is Christina Aguilera.

First off, I would like to say that host Tracie Ellis Ross did a great job and I think she could go on to host more award shows. She has hosted the BET Awards as well and the Black Girls Rock event and she is so funny and so creative and has a great style. (sorry for the run-on sentence) There is something about her that I really enjoy and I hope that she will host even bigger shows in the future.

The show opened with P!nk and Kelly Clarkson which was great but P!nk's standalone performance of "Beautiful Trauma" was out of this world. It was good to see Selena Gomez back on stage with her song "Wolves" with Marshmello. I wish she would have done one of her singles "Bad Liar" or "Fetish" which are both bops. Christina Aguilera did alright with her Whitney Houston tribute. I appreciate her knowing her range and what she can and cannot do with her voice. I was expecting more vocally, but she still did a good job. I think Ariana Grande would've shatteredddddd it (that's a good thing, lol) but overall a great job.

I was happy for Bruno Mars winning all of the awards her received including " Artist of the Year" 24K Magic was a great album and deserves all the accolades it has been receiving and more. It will go down as a classic album. I would be really surprised if it were not up for a grammy next year (nominations in 2 weeks!!!) If it doesnt it is all good. I just do not see awards shows the same anymore, including the Grammy's. At this point, all award shows seem to be a popularity contest and I just wish it were more about the actual music instead of the general public determining who should win. Congrats to all of the winners and we will see what happens next year!

bottom of page