top of page

My grammy nomination predictions

Award season is almost hear for 2018 and I cannot wait to see who will be nominated for all of them! An award show I look forward to every year is the Grammy Awards. This award show is the award show where I say "don't talk to me, don't text me, I am all in for this award show" haha. I am still in awe that Beyonce did not win "Album of the Year" for Lemonade. 2019 will be her year to win.

With the Grammy predictions coming out tomorrow, I thought I would put my two cents in as to who I think will be nominated in the major categories.

Album of the Year

1. Kendrick Lamar - DAMN

This album topped my personal list of one of my favorite albums of 2017 (and Rolling Stones magazine as well). The politically infused "DNA" and his fear of losing creativity in "FEAR," shows Lamar's creativity in new and exciting ways. With his last two masterpieces "To Pimp a Butterfly and "Untitled, Unmastered," DAMN is another classic and I expect this album to be featured in a lot of categories.

2. Lorde - Melodrama

I think I am the only one in my friend group that actually enjoyed this album. I have been a fan of Lorde since her debut single "Royals." The minute I heard her first single"Green Light" I was already hooked. From "The Louvre" to the catchy "Homemade Dynamite," I can see it going for both "Album of the Year and "Best Pop Vocal Album" This album is an overall great pop record and has been receiving rave reviews as it should be haha.

3. Beck - Colors

I have not listened to this album, I just listed it because the category always has one of those albums that you have neverrr heard of.

4. Ed Sheeran - Divide

Sheeran's last album was nominated. I have not really listened to this one either, but I expect it to be in this category.

Record of the Year

1. HUMBLE - Kendrick Lamar

The first song released from DAMN, this catchy song had so much to say about society and just learning to "sit down and be humble" It also blew up on the Billboard charts earlier this year and I know that that is taken in account for being nominated.

2. Green Light - Lorde

This amazing pop song has so much energy and I love how different it sounds from Lorde's previous work, but she manages to keep to her roots.

3. Shape of You - Ed Sheeran

This song was EVERYWHERE this year. I would be surprised if it is not on the list.

4. 24K Magic - Bruno Mars

This song was released after the Grammy submission date. It has so much nostalgia and for Bruno Mars to make this record at this time in 2016 was a bold move and it worked! This retro funk record will be known as a classic

Song of the Year

1. HUMBLE - Kendrick Lamar

2. Location - Khalid

Rising artist Khalid delivers in "Location." This sensually good song has been blowing up all year.

3. Shape of You - Ed Sheeran

4. Despacito

This catchy tune features Justin Beiber and was blowing records on the charts.

Best New Artist

1. Khalid

American Teen has been everywhere and was even #6 on Rolling Stone Magazines Top 50 Albums of 2017. THAT IS JUST FROM ONE ALBUM!

2. SZA

With her critically acclaimed album CTRL. SZA brings alt-R&B to another level. She was featured on Rihanna's ANTI (Consideration) as well as having great EP's. She is also under Kendrick Lamar's TDE Label. They are killing it this year.

3. Dua Lipa

With her catchy song "No Rules" as it s also dominating worldwide, Lipa gives us a different and fresh kind of sound in pop music.

Tmorrow will reveal all. Let's see if I am right on any haha

bottom of page