top of page

My Top Albums of 2017

2017 was a great year for music. From lyrics to the production of albums, I enjoyed all of the new and already established artists that have transitioned to a new sound. I am also happy to see the Rap & R&B genres come back to the spotlight so with that being said, here are my top albums of this year in no particular order.

Calvin Harris - Funk Wav Bounces Vol.1

I loved the transition Calvin Harris had made with his music. Almost every song from this album is a bop and I enjoy so much. "Slide" is my top song of 2017. I love the funk aspect of the song an it is well produced. All of the songs he has released so far have been jams to me, including his most recent funk remix of"The Weekend" by SZA. I really hope he release a Vol. 2 at some point and if he ever tours with these albums, I will be there front and center.

Taylor Swift - reputation

Taylor Swift is another artist that her transition has worked out very well. 1989 was her first all pop record and it is one of my favorite pop records of all time and made me turn into a swiftie! With reputation, she delivers again with catchy lyrics and beats. When I first heard "Look What You Made Me Do," I honestly did not care for it and was worried of the direction she was going to take with this album. The song grew on me and now I can't stop singing the chorus haha. Once the album was released, I realized " Look What You Made Me Do" does not do this album justice. "Delicate" is by far one of the best songs she has released and I immediately fell in love with "King of My Heart." Swift delivered again with another great pop record but 1989 is still my favorite by far.

Aly & AJ - Ten Years EP

While it is not a full album, this EP is one of the most underrated ones out there right now. Aly & AJ deliver a synth heavy 80's retro EP and it is very well done.

St. Vincent - MASSEDUCTION

I was never really into St. Vincent until this record.I sing the chorus to "Los Angeless" all of the time and it is an album that you can listen to without skipping a track. Not only is the album good, but the visuals that have been released are eye popping and stunning. I am considering catching her perform at the top of next year. This album has Grammys 2019 written all over it.

Jay-Z - 4:44

I have been fan of Hov for a long time and his latest album 4:44 is one of the best albums he has ever released. I love how honest it is and what ends up being his most vulnerable album turns out to be one of his best. From discussing the issue of racism ( The Story of O.J.) to the topic of his marriage ( 4:44). My personal favorite is "Smile" as it helps me get through tough times. I am happy to see all of the accolades it is receiving and hope i will get some awards in 2018.

Without Warning - 21 Savage, Offset, Metro Boomin

BEST. COLLAB. ALBUM. OF. 2017. POINT. BLANK. period.

CTRL -SZA

By far one of the best produced R&B albums I have listened to in a while. CTRL covers different types of relationships including being the side chick (The Weekend) to having low self-esteem in a relationship (Drew Barrymore) This album was so well put together lyrically and musically and it is also an album that you can listen the whole way through. It needs to win AT LEAST ONE GRAMMY!

DAMN - Kendrick Lamar

Kendrick delivered again with DAMN. Every album he releases is a masterpiece and I always think how will he top the next album and he does it and makes it seem effortless. Politically and emotionally driven, DAMN shows how talented Kendrick is with his flow and bars in each song.

I am excited to see what 2018 brings. I think it will be another great year!

bottom of page