top of page

MINKE talks about her most memorable online dating experience, her first show ever, and living in Lo


Minke (pronounced like link, or a mink coat) is a singer-songwriter from London, where so many talented musicians have been based and have blessed the United States with their presence. From Queen, Florence and The Machine (rhyme scheme not intended) Amy Winehouse, and so many more, Minke is no different from these artists. After releasing her debut single, "Gold Angel," she garnered attention from Apple's Zane Lowe and Beats 1, which then led to her being featured on Spotify’s New Music Friday, Pop Rising, and hit No.1 on Hype Machine twice within a two week span.

She was also featured as an Artist to Watch from Live Nation, stating that her music as a "crossbreed of The XX and Lianne La Havas." Minke recently released her brand new single, "Maybe 25," which brings up the topic of online dating and technology. Stage Left had the opportunity to interview MINKE and discuss her most memorable online dating experience, her inspirations, and her music.

Thank you so much for taking the time to do this! How are you feeling? "Good thanks!" How are you enjoying Los Angeles? How is it compared to London? "I love it here, as I do in London. I tend to split my time between the 2 and complain about the weather in both places but generally I think there’s a more relaxed vibe in LA which is nice." Congrats on the release of your new single “Maybe 25.” I saw that you collaborated with Rory Andrew, who has also worked with ODESZA. How did the collab come about? "Thanks! I’ve actually known Rory since I was really young. We finally wrote our first song together 3 years ago after a mutual friend got us back in touch in new york. He’s the best, I love working with him so much." In your song, you bring up the topic of online dating and how technology has impacted our society in such an interesting way. What was your most memorable online dating experience, Good or bad? "I mean, one guy could hardly speak English in person he was telling his friend what to message me on the app so it looked like he could, one guy forgot his wallet so I had to pay for everything… I have so many stories haha. I’ve actually made 2 great friends from it though so it’s not all bad." One question that I’ve asked every artist that I have interviewed so far is who was the first artist that you saw live? Who did you go with and where? How was your overall experience? "The Who with my parents and brother at the Royal Albert Hall. I remember the guy directly behind me was smoking weed and I was so confused with what the smell was as an 8 year old." Who are you currently listening to? What is on Minke’s playlist? "Loads of stuff… NoMBe, Hurray for the riff raff, fleetwood mac, Chelsea Jade, Dermot kennedy…" Is there a certain way you go about recording/writing your music? Candles in the room? A dimly lit room? "Honestly no, it’s way more about staying in the moment not overthinking things and bouncing ideas freely with whoever’s in the room. I do love a smelly candle though" Who/what do you draw inspiration from with your music? "I grew up listening to blues rock so that’s in my DNA always inspiring me… Jimi hendrix, Stevie Ray Vaughn, Aretha etc but I draw from everything in every day life… a pattern, a conversation in a bar, a news headline, anything can spark an idea" So many people are digging your music. Zane Lowe, Billboard magazine, and being featured on Spotify’s New Music Friday playlist. I presume all of these achievements were shocking and awesome at the same time. Was there one in particular that had you do a double take and say to yourself “wait, what?” "When Mumford and sons invited me to sing with them alongside Leon Bridges and Maggie Rogers and Kevin Garret and Lucy Rose… I was like, I’m not worthy!" How’s your debut EP coming along? "I’m really excited about it. I think it’s going to truly representative of where I’m at and there are songs that I think better what I’ve done before, so. I can’t wait for it to be out in the world!"

It is all uphill from here for MINKE. Be sure to check out her AMAZING new track "Maybe 25" where fans can download or stream here.

bottom of page