top of page

A True Showgirl: Jennifer Lopez

June 10, 2019. San Diego, CA. Ms. Jennifer Lopez. Actress, singer, entrepreneur, and also a showgirl. Ms. Lopez recently kicked off her headlining "Its My Party" tour, her first nationwide tour in 7 years, with her last being with Enrique Iglesias in 2012. Just last year, she ended her Las Vegas residency "All I Have," receiving rave reviews and was a sight to see, at least I can say so for myself when I attended.

The new tour officially began in Los Angeles, CA with two sold out nights at The Forum, with my show (San Diego, CA) being the third. The show took at place at the Pechanga Arena, with most San Diegans still calling it the Sports Arena.

Doors opened at 7pm and Parking was $20. Luckily for me, I live 2 blocks away and was able to walk. Once I got there, I immediately headed for the merchandise stand. Most shirts were $35-$40, a tour program was $25, and a hat was $30. There were also pack of jacket patches being sold for $20 and some World of Dance merchandise.

I myself purchased only the tour program this go around. The show immediately started at 8pm with winners chosen from her hit show World of Dance on NBC. The standout was The Lab, a dance group that both young and electrifying. After the DJ hyped the crowd up with a super good mix, it was time for Lopez to celebrate her birthday with San Diego.

Lopez began the show at 8:50, and came out to her latest hit "Medicine." She then continued on with a 2-hour set mixed with old and new hits and features. The costumes, transitions, dance breaks and her elaborate stage made it all worth the pricey $170 ticket tag. Given I was 5 rows away from the floor, Lopez made it all worth wile. Lopez even gave a lucky fan in the audience a lap dance from her and a couple of her dancers. A standout moment for me from the show was her sultry version of her breakout hit "If You Had My Love." She continued with her LL Cool J collab "All I Have," a cover of Sara Barrellis' "Gravity," "Limitless" along with her insanely talented daughter Emme, and a show stopping performance of "Hold it, Don't Drop It." The party ended shortly after 11pm and was one party to remember. While the party had some similarities to her Vegas residency, it was a great celebration to be a witness. Lopez can continue to tour with her greatest hits and I will be there. Lopez is a true showgirl.

bottom of page